Home | Contact us | Welsh flag Cymraeg

Restoring the link between people and woodlands

RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards to showcase Wales

The Royal Forestry Society RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards will be in Wales for 2015 with woodland owners and managers across Wales being invited to enter six categories, with cash prizes available.

Among them is a special award, Woodland Creation Excellence, being sponsored by Natural Resources Wales (NRW) for woodlands between 1-10-years-old. To enter, woodland must have been planted to achieve one or more ecosystem services objectives – from timber, water quality or biomass to biodiversity and resilience.

There are four additional categories covering a range of woodlands managed for differing objectives:

·         Duke of Cornwall (Multipurpose award)
·         RFS Silviculture
·         Small Woodland
·         Community Forest

In addition, a Schools Award is open to educational organisations from nurseries to sixth forms involved in projects that incorporate woodland management, timber and its uses in their learning.

Deadline for entries is Friday 6 March 2015.

The Awards will be presented in July at the RFS’s magnificent Coast Redwoods woodlands in Leighton near Welshpool, the Charles Ackers Redwood Gove and Naylor Pinetum. There is a top prize of £1000 in each category and runners up prizes of £500 are up for offer.

For more details see http://www.rfs.org.uk/awards/rfs-excellence-in-forestry-awards

Jack Whitaker Jack Whittaker, RFS President